map_NWCCOGmembersThe northwest region includes the counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin and Summit. NWCCOG is the region designated by the State of Colorado as State Planning and Management Region 12. The most recent population figure reported from the U.S. Census Bureau, Census 2010, is 113,576. The region consists of 6,779 square miles, for an overall population density of 16.8 persons per square mile.

Eagle County

Eagle County covers 1,701 square miles and makes up 25% of the region. There are fifteen community centers in the County. Vail, Minturn, Red Cliff, Avon, Eagle, Gypsum, and Basalt are incorporated towns, and all, with the exception of Vail and Redcliff, have been actively annexing adjacent land in the past ten years to accommodate residential and commercial growth. Eagle-Vail and Beaver Creek are essentially unincorporated suburbs of the Town of Avon. The largest population center is unincorporated Edwards. The smallest centers, also unincorporated, are Burns, McCoy and Bond, which serve ranches in the northern part of the county, and Wolcott, which is likely to see significant growth pressure in the foreseeable future given its location on the I-70 corridor. On the Roaring Fork River, unincorporated El Jebel lies near the Town of Basalt between the towns of Glenwood Springs in Garfield County and Aspen in Pitkin County. Finally, Dotsero is an emerging community center located west of Gypsum on the Colorado River where over 400 dwelling units and 20,000 square feet of commercial space have recently been approved.

Grand County

Grand County covers 1,869 square miles and makes up 28% of the region. It is known as Middle Park. Six incorporated Towns are located in Grand County: Town of Fraser, Town of Granby, Town of Grand Lake, Town of Hot Sulphur Springs, Town of Kremmling and Town of Winter Park. Unincorporated communities include: Parshall, Radium and Tabernash.

Jackson County

Jackson County covers 1,628 square miles and makes up 24% of the region. It is known as North Park. It is made up of the incorporated Town of Walden, and the unincorporated communities of Cowdrey, Coalmont and Rand.

Pitkin County

Pitkin County covers 975 square miles and is located in the heart of the White River National Forest, surrounded by the spectacular peaks of the Elk Range in the northern Rocky Mountains. Pitkin County includes the communities of Aspen, Snowmass Village, Old Snowmass, Woody Creek, portions of the town of Basalt, Meredith, Thomasville, the outskirts of Carbondale and the town of Redstone.

Summit County

Summit County covers 619 square miles and makes up 9% of the Region. The County is centrally located in Colorado, being only an hour’s drive from the Denver metropolitan area. Interstate 70 (I-70), the state’s main east-west transportation corridor, bisects the County, and enhances the proximity of the County to Denver/Front Range communities. Included within the county are six incorporated municipalities – the Towns of Blue River, Breckenridge, Dillon, Frisco, Montezuma, and Silverthorne. Summit County has four major ski resorts (Arapahoe Basin, Breckenridge, Copper Mountain, and Keystone), significant National Forest and Bureau of Land Management lands, and two Congressionally-designated Wilderness Areas (Eagles Nest and Ptarmigan Peak).